Recently, the Tu Duc Tomb restoration finished. Historical relics of Du Khiem Pavilion, Xung Khiem Pavilion, and Khiem Cung Mon located in the complex of Tu Duc Tomb built in 1864 are three areas restored in the complex of Tu Duc Emperor’s Tomb. Undergoing many historical landmarks, especially from 1945 up until now, the Tomb of Tu Duc is almost restored by reinforcing, urgently conserving, which is not commensurate with the value of the relic. The concern is that the main structure of the monument is mostly made of wood, tiled roof, situated on the lake, along with being affected by extremely harsh weather.
Works of Xung Khiem Pavilion and Du Khiem Pavilion belong to the bid package No.5 in conservation, renovation and restoration project of Tu Duc Tomb. The restoration of Xung Khiem Pavilion, Du Khiem Pavilion, and Khiem Cung Mon has the total investment capital of about 27 billion dong. Its construction started in May 22, 2013. Xung Khiem Pavilion has an area of more than 204 square meters, while Du Khiem Pavilion has an area of over 46 square meters, and Khiem Cung Mon has an area of more than 143 square meters. All roof system is restored by woodpeckers, royal tiled roof or yin and yang pipe tiled roof.
The two buildings were completed with great significance in improving quality of service for visitors and repelling unused space, returning the poetic beauty for the monument of Tu Duc Tomb, contributing to preservation and promotion of Hue Citadel. In order to meet the demand of visitors as well as increasing the quality of services in Hue tourism, items are added at the works, including lighting, interior decor, layout and gilded horizontal pictures, while entrance is still being restored and is expected to complete in August 2015. The value of two works is more than 10 billion dong. The completion of two works has a great significance in improving quality of service for visitors and repelling unused space, returning the poetic beauty for the monument of Tu Duc Tomb, contributing to preservation and promotion of Hue Citadel. According to Mr. Nguyen Van Phuc, director of the Office of Hue Monuments Conservation Center, it is expected after March 26, 2015 there are Hue traditional music performance at Xung Khiem Pavilion and Du Khiem Pavilion to serve visitors when traveling Tu Duc Tomb, which enriches activities in relics.
Travel companies often rank Tu Duc Tomb first before other attractions in Hue Citadel, after Khai Dinh Tomb for visitors to have a chance to explore many interesting things. Unlike Khai Dinh Tomb, Tu Duc Tomb has a poetic beauty which is also reflecting elegant and subtle features of Tu Duc Emperor. Located in a valley area of about 12ha in Xuan Thuy Commune, about 8km of Hue city, Tu Duc Tomb has about 50 large and small works scattering in the valley. The layout of Tu Duc is opposite to Giang Khiem Mountain; its back is Xuan Xuong Mountain, and Luu Khiem Lake in the center. Particularly, Luu Khiem Lake is also home to Xung Khiem Ta and Du Khiem Ta where the Emperor watched the flowers, writing poetry and reading... After three stone stairs, visitors come to Khiem Cung Mon to enter Hoa Khiem Palace where used to be the resting place of Tu Duc Emperor. Bi Temple is a place where there is a stone stele with an essay about Tu Duc Emperor engraved. Nearby, Buu Thanh built by brick with a small stone house in the center is the tomb of Tu Duc.