Where do you travel?


Trang An complex becomes the world heritage

Tue, 24 Jun 2014. Last updated Thu, 07 May 2015 17:17

At the 38th meeting of the World Heritage Committee UNESCO took place in Doha from June 14 to June 25, 2014, with 100 percent of the vote, 21 members of UNESCO officially recognized Trang An complex as a new world heritage.

Trang An complex in Ninh Binh Vietnam consists of three contiguous areas including Hoa Lu Ancient Capital, Trang An - Tam Coc - Bich Dong Scenic Landscape, Primeval Forest of Hoa Lu. All the landscapes in the heritage were ranked in the different levels, consisting of 8 provincial monuments, 21 national monuments and 2 special national monuments. In details, the outstanding universal value of Trang An Eco-tourism complex was recognized by UNESCO based on three pillars in the Implementing Guidelines of the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Hesitage, which are:

Cultural Criteria

Traversing a cave in Trang An

Trang An contains evidence of the interaction between human and environment, expresses human adaptation to the harshest changes of geography and environment in the Earth’s history, especially, the climate changes in the final period of and after the last ice age.

Aesthetic Criteria

Karst landscape of Trang An contains stunning natural sceneries with majestic mountains, mysterious caves, tranquil rivers dotted with sacred temples, shrines, and pagodas.

Geographical/ Landform Criteria

 Trang An Eco-tourism complex demonstrates the final stages of Karst evolution in the humid tropical climate. Trang An also ensures the integrity and the authenticity, implements and ensures the full implementation of the heritage’s protection and management.

Tam Coc, Ninh Binh

Speaking at the 38th meeting of the World Heritage Committee, Deputy Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Ms. Dang Thi Bich Lien said: “the recognition of Trang An-Ninh Binh complex as the world heritage is the great honor of Vietnam. This also gives Vietnam the responsibility to protect and advertise the outstanding universal value of the heritage and transfers to the next generation. On this occasion, we promise to seriously implement the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage in Vietnam.” This is the first time Vietnam attending the meeting of the World Heritage Committee as one of 21 members.

Tam Coc Cave, Ninh Binh province, Vietnam

With the recognition of UNESCO this time, the total world cultural and natural heritage is up to 8. Trang An is the first heritage in Vietnam was recognized as a mixed heritage item. Previously, there are 5 Vietnam wonders recognized by UNESCO as the cultural world heritage including Complex of Hue monuments, My Son Sanctuary, Hoi An Ancient Town, Central Sector of the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long – Hanoi, and Citadel of the Ho Dynasty. Besides, two natural world heritages in Vietnam consist of Halong Bay and Phong Nha – Ke Bang National Park.

  • View
  • Share
  • Comment
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0